Interior Cabinet Secretary Fred Matiang’i has announced the end date for the curfew issued in five Counties including Nairobi, Machakos, Nakuru, Kajiado and Kiambu.

In a revised gazette notice dated April 12, 2021, the CS indicated that the order would go on until May 29, 2021.

During this period of time, the CS emphasised that there would be no public gatherings, processions or movement either alone or as a group during the period of the curfew.

Those exempted are those permitted, in writing, by a police officer in charge of the police in a county or a police officer in charge of the police in a division/sub-county as well as the listed essential service providers.

President Uhuru Kenyatta on March 26, 2021, imposed a dusk to dawn curfew from 8pm to 4am as well as directed a cessation of movement by road, rail or air into and out of the disease-infected counties.

In addition to that, the president ordered the operations of bars in these counties to be suspended and the sale of alcohol in restaurants and eateries in the five Counties be prohibited

He, however, did not indicate when these orders would be vacated.

His orders had been prompted by a spike in recorded Covid-19 cases in the Country. Experts had indicated that the cases would only flatten if measures were taken.

“Based on experience, this peak will flatten only by Mid-May 2021, which is about 60 days from now,” the president had stated in his speech.