In a moment of replacing Kakamenga Governor Wycliffe Oparanya, Embu Governor Martin Wambora was elected the new Chair of the Council of Governors. 

According to our source at the CoG meeting at the Movenpick Hotel, Wambora will be deputised by Kisii Governor James Ongwae. 

The Embu governor  was battling it out against Kirinyaga’s Anne Waiguru, Kwale’s Salim Mvurya and Jackson Mandago (Uasin Gishu). 

Makueni Governor Kivutha Kibwana withdrew from the race the previous night, citing a possible conflict of interest owing to his presidential bid. 

“I will not be a candidate for the Council of Governors elections. As a 2022 presidential candidate, I have been advised by my team that serving in the next CoG executive can constitute a conflict of interest. I thank my colleagues for the opportunity to serve as Chief Whip,” he tweeted. 

Elgeyo Marakwet Alex Tolgos was elected as the new CoG Chief Whip replacing Kivutha while Nyeri’s Mutahi Kahiga was elected to chair the Education Committee. 

The Council of Governors new line up is expected to be unveiled shortly. 

Past CoG chairs include former Bomet Governor Issac Ruto who was the council’s maiden boss. 

His predecessor was current Agriculture CS while serving as Meru Governor, who was also succeded by Turkana’s Josphat Nanok

The Council of Governors celebrated the achievements of the outgoing team and congratulate them for the job well done.

Kakamega Senator Wycliffe Oparanya (center) with other governors including Makueni's Kivutha Kibwana at a press conference in January 2020.